How many calories are in Monster Energy?
An 8 fl oz serving of Monster Energy (240 g) has 113 calories. 100 g has 47 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 110.
An 8 fl oz serving of the original Monster Energy drink (240 g) has 113 calories, 26.2 g of sugar and 79 mg of caffeine in USDA's record. A standard 16 fl oz can holds two of these servings, so a whole can has about twice these amounts.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: · Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 serving (240 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of monster energy drink already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 113 | 47 | |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Saturated fat | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 185 mg | 8% | 77 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 27.1 g | 10% | 11.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Total sugars | 26.2 g | 10.9 g | |
| Added sugars | not reported | ||
| Protein | 1.1 g | 0.47 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.1 mg | 8% | 0.04 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 1.9 mg | 150% | 0.81 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 24 mg | 150% | 10.2 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 2.4 mg | 140% | 1.01 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 6.2 mcg | 260% | 2.57 mcg |
| Choline | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Iron | 0.1 mg | 0% | 0.04 mg |
| Potassium | 4.8 mg | 0% | 2 mg |
| Magnesium | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Phosphorus | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Zinc | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.01 mg |
| Copper | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Manganese | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.01 mg |
| Selenium | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 211.3 g | 88.1 g | |
| Caffeine | 79 mg | 33 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Making a label for your own product? Use our free nutrition facts label generator.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 serving | 240 g | 113 | 27.1 g | 1.1 g | 0 g | 0 g | 26.2 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 47 | 11.3 g | 0.5 g | 0 g | 0 g | 10.9 g |
| 1 oz | 28.4 g | 13 | 3.2 g | 0.1 g | 0 g | 0 g | 3.1 g |
An 8 fl oz serving of Monster Energy (240 g) has 113 calories. 100 g has 47 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 110.
An 8 fl oz serving of Monster Energy (240 g) has 26.2 g total sugars. USDA does not report how much of it is added sugar. A label for a product must state added sugars from the recipe and ingredient specifications.
An 8 fl oz serving of Monster Energy (240 g) has 79 mg of Caffeine, 0% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 33 mg. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
An 8 fl oz serving of Monster Energy (240 g) has 185 mg of sodium, 8% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 77 mg.
An 8 fl oz serving of Monster Energy (240 g) has 6.2 mcg of vitamin B12, 260% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 2.57 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
100 g of monster energy drink has 47 calories, 0.47 g protein, 11.3 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 10.9 g sugars and 0 g fat.
Per 100 g, compared with the other 47 soft drinks in this database, monster energy drink has more calories than 85% of them.
The values on this page are per 8 fl oz, the serving in the USDA record. Most Monster cans in the US hold 16 fl oz, and a can that holds two servings may be labeled per can or with two columns, per serving and per container. If you drink the whole can, double the numbers above.
These figures come from USDA's SR Legacy database (2018). Recipes and sizes change, so the panel on your can is the one to trust for current values.
Monster Low Carb replaces most of the sugar with sweeteners: per 100 g it has a few calories and about a gram of sugar, against 47 calories and 10.9 g of sugar for the original. Its caffeine per 100 g is similar.
An energy drink can be sold as a conventional beverage, with a Nutrition Facts panel, or as a liquid dietary supplement, with a Supplement Facts panel. FDA's guidance on distinguishing liquid dietary supplements from beverages explains how the product's name, packaging, serving size and marketing decide which one applies. Caffeine is not a required line on a Nutrition Facts panel, so brands that state it do so voluntarily.
Making your own drink? Build a Nutrition Facts label for a beverage, or a Supplement Facts panel for a supplement.
The same serving of monster energy drink, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0 g | 0 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0 g + Trans / trans 0 g | 0 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 180 mg | 8 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 27 g | 10 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 26 g | 26 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 1 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Iron / Fer | 0 mg | 1 % |
| Potassium | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 197 kJ / 47 kcal |
| Fat | 0 g |
| of which saturates | 0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 11 g |
| of which sugars | 11 g |
| Protein | 0 g |
| Salt | 0.19 g |
| Per 100g | Per 240g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 197 kJ 47 kcal |
472 kJ 113 kcal |
5.6% |
| Fat | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| of which saturates | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Carbohydrate | 11g | 27g | 10% |
| of which sugars | 11g | 26g | 29% |
| Fibre | 0 gg | 0 gg | - |
| Protein | 0 gg | 1.1g | 2.3% |
| Salt | 0.19g | 0.46g | 7.7% |
If you make and sell a product that contains monster energy drink, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 171935: "Beverages, Energy Drink, Monster, fortified with vitamins C, B2, B3, B6, B12". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field, and this processed food may contain some, so added sugars are shown as not reported. The label panel prints 0 g because a row cannot be blank; a real product label needs the figure from its recipe. View the USDA record ↗
Or make a monster energy drink nutrition label from values you already have