How many calories are in black-eyed peas?
A cup of cooked black-eyed peas (171 g) has 198 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 200.
A cup of cooked black-eyed peas (171 g) has 198 calories, 13.2 g of protein and 11.1 g of fiber, with almost no fat. The numbers are USDA's for dried black-eyed peas boiled without salt.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 cup (171 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of black-eyed peas already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 198 | 116 | |
| Total fat | 0.9 g | 1% | 0.53 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g | 1% | 0.14 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | 0.1 g | 0.04 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.4 g | 0.23 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 6.8 mg | 0% | 4 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 35.5 g | 13% | 20.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 11.1 g | 40% | 6.5 g |
| Total sugars | 5.6 g | 3.3 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 13.2 g | 7.73 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 1.7 mcg | 0% | 1 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0.68 mg | 1% | 0.4 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0.48 mg | 3% | 0.28 mg |
| Vitamin K | 2.9 mcg | 2% | 1.7 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.35 mg | 29% | 0.2 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.09 mg | 7% | 0.06 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.85 mg | 5% | 0.5 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.17 mg | 10% | 0.1 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 356 mcg | 89% | 208 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 55 mg | 10% | 32.2 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 41 mg | 3% | 24 mg |
| Iron | 4.3 mg | 24% | 2.51 mg |
| Potassium | 475 mg | 10% | 278 mg |
| Magnesium | 91 mg | 22% | 53 mg |
| Phosphorus | 267 mg | 21% | 156 mg |
| Zinc | 2.2 mg | 20% | 1.29 mg |
| Copper | 0.46 mg | 51% | 0.27 mg |
| Manganese | 0.81 mg | 35% | 0.48 mg |
| Selenium | 4.3 mcg | 8% | 2.5 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 119.8 g | 70 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Making a label for your own product? Use our free nutrition facts label generator.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup | 171 g | 198 | 35.5 g | 13.2 g | 0.9 g | 11.1 g | 5.6 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 116 | 20.8 g | 7.7 g | 0.5 g | 6.5 g | 3.3 g |
| 1 oz | 28.4 g | 33 | 5.9 g | 2.2 g | 0.2 g | 1.8 g | 0.9 g |
A cup of cooked black-eyed peas (171 g) has 198 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 200.
A cup of cooked black-eyed peas (171 g) has 13.2 g protein, 26% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 7.73 g. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A cup of cooked black-eyed peas (171 g) has 11.1 g of fiber, 40% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 6.5 g. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A cup of cooked black-eyed peas (171 g) has 356 mcg of folate, 89% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 208 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A cup of cooked black-eyed peas (171 g) has 35.5 g total carbohydrate, including 11.1 g dietary fiber and 5.6 g total sugars. Carbohydrate minus fiber is 24.4 g.
100 g of black-eyed peas has 116 calories, 7.73 g protein, 20.8 g carbohydrate, 6.5 g fiber, 3.3 g sugars and 0.53 g fat.
About 70% of the calories in black-eyed peas come from carbohydrate, 4% from fat and 26% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
Per 100 g, compared with the other 216 beans and legumes in this database, black-eyed peas has fewer calories than 63% of them and less protein than 66%.
Black-eyed peas are a variety of cowpea, a legume closer to beans than to garden peas, named for the dark spot where each seed was attached to its pod. They are a staple of Southern US cooking, where hoppin' John (black-eyed peas with rice and pork) is a New Year's Day tradition, and of West African and Indian cooking.
This page is for dried peas boiled without salt. Canned black-eyed peas are packed with their liquid and usually salt, so they are lower in calories per 100 g but much higher in sodium. Frozen black-eyed peas are picked younger and have slightly more calories and protein per 100 g once cooked.
Make sure the record you use matches the form and the weight you measure: cooked and drained, or dry.
Per 100 g cooked, black-eyed peas have fewer calories than black beans, pinto beans or chickpeas, with a little less protein and fiber than any of the three. They are also notably high in folate: 208 mcg per 100 g.
For a soup, salad or hoppin' John, weigh the peas cooked and drained and enter them with every other ingredient in the label generator. If you cook from dried peas, either weigh after cooking or use a dry-pea record for the dry weight, but never mix the two.
The same serving of black-eyed peas, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0.9 g | 1 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0.2 g + Trans 0 g | 1 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 5 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 35 g | 13 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 11 g | 40 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 6 g | 6 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 13 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 41 mg | 3 % |
| Iron / Fer | 4 mg | 24 % |
| Potassium | 475 mg | 14 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 485 kJ / 116 kcal |
| Fat | 0.5 g |
| of which saturates | 0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 21 g |
| of which sugars | 3.3 g |
| Protein | 7.7 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 171g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 485 kJ 116 kcal |
830 kJ 198 kcal |
9.9% |
| Fat | 0.5g | 0.9g | 1.3% |
| of which saturates | 0.1g | 0.2g | 1.2% |
| Carbohydrate | 21g | 35g | 14% |
| of which sugars | 3.3g | 5.6g | 6.3% |
| Fibre | 6.5g | 11g | - |
| Protein | 7.7g | 13g | 26% |
| Salt | 0 gg | 0.02g | <1% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Black-Eyed PeasCowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt | 116 | 7.73 g | 0.53 g | 20.8 g |
| Canned Black-Eyed PeasCowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, canned, plain | 77 | 4.74 g | 0.55 g | 13.6 g |
| Dry Black-Eyed PeasCowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, raw | 336 | 23.5 g | 1.26 g | 60 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains black-eyed peas, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 173759: "Cowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗
Or make a black-eyed peas nutrition label from values you already have